What to do if your state banned the lottery

What do you do if you live in a state that has banned the lottery? Find out why it is banned and what you can do to cash in on the ever-growing jackpots.

Whether it is for financial, religious, or other various political reasons, some states still do not have state sanctioned lotteries. These states are Alabama, Alaska, Hawaii, Mississippi, Nevada, Utah, and Wyoming.

The United States has 43 states with lotteries, as well as lotteries in District of Columbia, U.S. Virgin Islands, and Puerto Rico. Of these lotteries, 33 are members of the Multi-State Lottery Association, MUSL, which helps to put on games including Powerball. Of the 46 current U.S. Lotteries, Puerto Rico is the only lottery that does not offer Powerball and Mega Millions. Both Powerball and Mega Millions are multi-state lottery games that offer bigger prizes and more ways to win.

So what do you do if your state banned the lottery? We have put together a useful infographic to give you tips on what to do so you don’t miss out on playing lottery games, especially when the jackpots get to record amounts.


Even if your state has banned the lottery, you are not completely out of luck. Most state lotteries allow out-of-towners to play. Just remember, if you win a prize form a lottery in an eighobring state, you have to go back to that state in order to claim your prize.

Stay up to date with your favorite lotteries with LotteryHUB, your network for all things lottery!

Written by LotteryHUB News Staff Writers

The LotteryHUB News team collaborated to provide this article for our readers. As always, good luck with your next bet! We’re always here to keep you on top of your game.