N.C. Online Subscription Service Launching Thursday

Dec. 4, 2013 – The North Carolina Education Lottery announced Tuesday that its online subscription service will launch Thursday, Dec. 5.  The subscription service will allow players to purchase Powerball, Mega Millions, and Carolina Cash 5 tickets through the Lottery’s website.

The subscription service requires players to buy a minimum of two weeks worth of tickets for any of the three games.  For Powerball, the two-week minimum puts the lowest possible cost of a subscription at $8 – $2 per draw for four drawings.

Mega Millions and Carolina Cash 5 each cost $1 per play, so players who wish to use the subscription will have to part with at least $4 to buy either of those games’ tickets through the player’s club.

“We hope the new service will offer a way for those who currently don’t buy tickets at a traditional lottery retailer to try some of our games,” said Alice Garland, the Lottery’s executive director, in a press release.

Players who wish to use the subscription service will do so through the Lottery’s Lucke-Zone Player’s Club.  Registering for the player’s club is free and helps the Lottery ensure players are of legal age and live within the state.

Safeguards like responsible play limits and geo-location technology, which will “ensure… that no tickets are sold to anyone who is not physically in North Carolina,” have been built into the subscription system.

For now, purchases made through the subscription service will have to rely on electronic funds transfers from players’ bank accounts, but the Lottery says they are working to support the use of debit cards.

Winnings below $600 will then be deposited directly into players’ bank accounts.  As with traditional brick-and-mortar purchases, prizes worth $600 or more will still need to be claimed in person at the Lottery’s headquarters in Raleigh.


Powered By DT Author Box

Written by Matt Isaacs

Matt is the Editorial Manager for the LotteryHUB News Team. Matt graduated from Rutgers University’s School of Journalism and Media Studies in May 2013